Trading or betting automation, and with what data?

We've gone to the dogs.
Cipobotter

Hi All,

I have been a lurker around here for a year now, learning the ropes through my several mistakes and the various posts.

About one year ago I have started my journey into automation betting, first on the horses, then on the dogs and football. I have mostly worked on trying to develop betting systems for dogs, although I have sometimes approached also trading. I like working on the dogs, mostly for the consistent conditions (e.g. # of races per day, # of runners, limited confounding factors, there is stability in the stochastic nature of their results) although I am aware of the problems relative with the low liquidity. I mostly do my own coding (in Matlab mostly) for both data analysis and betting, although I have been studying betangel recently. Needless to say, I am hopelessly in the red, and although it burns, I now approach the losses as part of the learning investment.

I am an engineering scientist by trade and skilled in programming and data analysis, with a good career, and, as most people around here, I do not have the time to follow the events closely, nor interest in switching from my career to trading/betting full time (unless, of course, it allows me to retire to Spain before I am 45). For these reasons I am interested in automation. I have approached betting/trading as an expensive hobby, and I usually spend a couple of hours of bot coding in the evening. I am writing because I find myself a little stuck at the moment and I wanted, it possible, to get some general hints from the people who have cracked the dogs. In the past year I have developed several mildly successful (mostly) backing bots, but none of them has endured the test of time.