Phantom breakpoints in VBA

Discussion regarding the spreadsheet functionality of Bet Angel.
Post Reply
User avatar
Derek27
Posts: 23468
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:44 am
Location: UK

Has anyone ever encountered the above problem, where VBA stops at the same statement even though there's no breakpoint? This spooky and annoying problem pops up occasionally and disappears as mysteriously as it appears?
neilb
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 8:17 pm

Don't know if this is any help or even the same thing.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/215 ... een-halted
User avatar
ODPaul82
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 6:32 am
Location: Digswell Herts

Does your code compile fine.
I've had points where I've compiled stuff (more so in access) where the routine becomes corrupted

Try commenting out the line of code where its hitting the breakpoint, then compile. Uncomment the line of code and then compile again
User avatar
Derek27
Posts: 23468
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:44 am
Location: UK

neilb wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:34 pm
Don't know if this is any help or even the same thing.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/215 ... een-halted
Thanks, that is the same or similar problem.
User avatar
Derek27
Posts: 23468
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:44 am
Location: UK

ODPaul82 wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 8:36 pm
Does your code compile fine.
I've had points where I've compiled stuff (more so in access) where the routine becomes corrupted

Try commenting out the line of code where its hitting the breakpoint, then compile. Uncomment the line of code and then compile again
Cheers, I didn't even realise there was an option to compile on the debug menu, I thought Access only compiles on demand. I'll give it a try if it happens again.
User avatar
jimibt
Posts: 3641
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:42 pm
Location: Narnia

use a bloody (non)interpreted language for god's sake :D

ok, i'll get me coat!
User avatar
ODPaul82
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 6:32 am
Location: Digswell Herts

jimibt wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 9:12 pm
use a bloody (non)interpreted language for god's sake :D

ok, i'll get me coat!
I do use goLang for some stuff :D
User avatar
Derek27
Posts: 23468
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:44 am
Location: UK

jimibt wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 9:12 pm
use a bloody (non)interpreted language for god's sake :D

ok, i'll get me coat!
I might just post my Poisson database when it's done. It's only a toy to play with but I wouldn't fancy coding it from scratch without all the tools Access provides. :)
User avatar
ODPaul82
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 6:32 am
Location: Digswell Herts

Access is awesome, wrote an alternative to SSIS using it when IT wouldn't let us get hold of a SQL Server instance

Another thing with your compile error, where I've had the routine entirely corrupt before after compilation, what I did to fix was comment the entire routine out (rather than the individual line of code like I said before), take a copy of that code block and uncomment it then do a find & replace to just add a prefix or suffix to the routine name then re-compile.
User avatar
Derek27
Posts: 23468
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:44 am
Location: UK

Writing code with statements like OPEN FOR INPUT AS #1 or LINE INPUT #1 takes me back a very very long time, back to the very earliest MS-BASIC or even BBC Micro basic. :D
User avatar
ODPaul82
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 6:32 am
Location: Digswell Herts

Still has it's uses that line!!
Although I do prefer to use Scripting.FileSystemObject instead these days
Post Reply

Return to “Bet Angel - Spreadsheet / Excel chat”