Broadband down for the next three weeks, help please!

A place to discuss anything.
arbitrage16

Woke up this morning to no internet - due to a house move BT have switched it off too early, so I'm without access before the end of the month. That would mean no trading, but I can't accept that so need to find a solution and would appreciate any help. The suggestion seems to be a mifi device - how feasible is this to trade from? I'm an in-running horse race trader looking at between 10 and 20 markets per day.

Elsewhere on here I have seen the suggestion to trade through a VPS as this would sort out the issue of using too much data - just throwing out ideas on topics I know little about!

As an aside this has got me feeling rather down; I know relative to real problems this is pretty minor, but I am getting into a rhythm with trading, really work best on the jumps so now is a good time for me, and this happens. But there we go, that is life. Thanks for any advice
northbound

If your area has good 4G signal (check your phone), you could:

- Go to a mobile store (e.g. Vodafone, Three, EE)

- Enquire about a pay as you go sim with 60+ Gb data allowance, telling them that you need to use this traffic on a laptop (as opposed to a mobile phone)

- Also enquire about a 4G router, which is a device where you insert the sim and create a wifi network to which you can connect to with your laptop

- When you have sim and router, also get a VPS subscription, e.g. Bet Angel VPS. It's simply a remote Windows computer where you can install Bet Angel.

- The VPS provider will give you a username/password to connect to this remote computer. You can connect by using a software called Microsoft Remote Desktop.

The 60Gb/month should be fine to trade on Betfair through VPS for a few hours every day and watch most races through Betfair Live Video.