Clarification for newbie please

A place to discuss anything.
SammyWhipple

As the title says, newbie here from matched betting. I'm trying to do my own research but some things aren't clicking.
Can someone help me understand if I have understood the following explanation regarding basic scalping? Its taken from letscomparebets.com

https://latest.letscomparebets.com/betf ... explained/

This scalping technique is all about choosing where to enter the market. Look at the ladder view and find a price where there is not very much money in the market.

For example, after looking up the column of odds you notice that there has only been £48 backing at 3.15. When money is entered into a bet on Betfair it sits in a queue waiting to be matched. Making the Back bet where this isn’t much money waiting gets you to the front of the queue. If the trader places a £100 back bet the £48 would change to £148.

What I am not getting is this.

I assume that the £48.00 at 3.15 represents funds available and waiting to be matched to a back bet.
Why would anyone want this figure to be low? Surely if there was £480.00 available then the chance of the bet being matched is much greater.

If someone could clarify one way or the other (and ideally explain why), I would appreciate their help

TIA

Sammy
Derek27

SammyWhipple wrote:
Sun Sep 12, 2021 9:24 pm
As the title says, newbie here from matched betting. I'm trying to do my own research but some things aren't clicking.
Can someone help me understand if I have understood the following explanation regarding basic scalping? Its taken from letscomparebets.com

https://latest.letscomparebets.com/betf ... explained/

This scalping technique is all about choosing where to enter the market. Look at the ladder view and find a price where there is not very much money in the market.