Betfair trading for beginners - Part 1 Starting out.

A place to discuss anything.
JollyGreen

Trading – the journey begins! Advice for new traders.

I get asked on a daily basis “what is the one thing you can show me that will work and make money?” My answer is always the same, “Get a job, it never fails”

That may sound flippant or even harsh but sadly it is also very true.

I will start by explaining how I got into trading for those who perhaps are new to the forum and have not read my posts. I started trading in late 2001, I cannot remember the exact date but it was around 6 months after Betfair started up. As some of you know, I had a misspent youth frequenting dark and smoky betting shops with my Grandfather. He was a certified A Grade, 100 percent, mug punter which worked to my advantage. When I saw him losing money and basically addicted to betting I knew it was not a path I wanted to follow.

I was approached by someone who shall remain anonymous. He wanted to use my race profiling skills to create a piece of software that would ensure a win no matter what the result. I thought the guy was a loony as I would need a bookmaker’s license to achieve that. Then Flutter came along shortly followed by Betfair and suddenly it all made sense.