Stall recovery

Trading is often about how to take the appropriate risk without exposing yourself to very human flaws.
kingsmark

As a novice trader, I am very aware of mindset disruption prompted by losses. The same behaviour will have broadly the same results every time, and it is madness to repeat this without correction.

In some areas of life we need to accept tuition and action that is contrary to our natural instincts. For trainee pilots there is an early and vital lesson to learn, which is a scary experience.

Insufficient air speed will result in a stall, with consequent loss of lift and control. Suddenly, the aircraft is in rapid uncontrolled descent. To recover from a stall, the pilot must push the nose down then increase the engine power. Power up flying nose down is counterintuitive, but soon becomes an automatic response.

My activity on the exchanges has recently improved, but yesterday felt like serious stall financially. I carried on with no deviation, and finished the day neither up nor down. Upon reflection I am very pleased with the outcome, for two reasons.

Firstly, the losses were due to normal market events and not mistakes or reaction. So no real cause for concern.

Secondly, brief analysis tells me that yesterday probably presented the most adverse conditions I am likely to encounter. If that is true, break even is a great result!

I gained a clear understanding of stall recovery many years ago. Hopefully, I can now apply the same discipline to trading.
to75ne

kingsmark wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 10:36 am

Secondly, brief analysis tells me that yesterday probably presented the most adverse conditions I am likely to encounter. If that is true, break even is a great result!

yesterday was a very average saturday for this time of the year (horse racing), with no problems from betfairs end. Straight forward liquid and in the main low volatile markets (during the afternoon session).

not sure what flying planes have todo with trading horse races