Traders Cognitive Bias Loop

Trading is often about how to take the appropriate risk without exposing yourself to very human flaws.
jamesg46

Bravashift's recent thread viewtopic.php?f=36&t=26241 got me thinking a little more about cognitive biases & in which order throughout a trade or day they may impact upon us. I thought I'd start a new thread so it can be specific to the biases & not take away from the specific topic of Bravashift's thread or this one.

To start off I'd like to make it clear that I'm no expert on this topic neither am I settled on the order I've put them in... that said I'm hoping it opens up to some great discussion. Maybe the loop would be changed in others opinion & that's great because it's a topic I'd love to learn from the more experienced or thoughtful mind than mine.

1: Loss Aversion,

I put this at number 1 because I think it's right at the forefront of the mind when the trigger finger is twitching & it's a proven bias that people weight their thought towards what they could lose rather than what they could gain.

2: Recency Bias,

This one is a double edged sword for me, what I mean by that is that this bias can impact ourselves in such ways like putting more weight on our recent P&L over our lifetime P&L, but is also very prominent in the market, take for example a well known Jockey winning a few races.

3: Conformation Bias,

In my opinion I rate this pretty highly, probably because of my own experiences. It took me a very long time to see
I was ignoring the information in front of me that didn't give me positive feedback about the trade in which I was participating.

4: Sunk Cost Fallacy,

I think most of us have been here, especially when we start our journey... the refusal to take that loss, the willingness to be the captain that goes down with his ship.

5: Outcome Bias,