Can't get any automation to return anything other than a big fat loss!

Learn sports betting strategies and discuss key factors to consider when placing a bet.
jamesedwards

Hi guys, been making plenty of £££s from betting in-running using Bet Angel and I've been paying the good ol' Premium Charge for several months now.

Since the move to 2% commission I've been busy creating and editing hundreds of variations of automations on other markets to try and increase my commission generated without impacting my profits. And I just can't get anything to work.

I have automations that successfully match 100s of back bets a day (all pre-off) at 85-95% market rounds and 100s of lays at 105-115%. Logic says this should be more than enough to beat the 2% commission but for some reason everything I try is nowhere near payback and most all lose significant money in the long run. Far more than just 2% commission.

I've tried various sports, different variations of staking and timing, I've analysed results to focus on areas that are working better and removing those that arent performing, but nothing works.

What am I missing? Why would consistent laying at 105-115% and backing at 85-95% not payback?
Derek27

When you say laying at 105-115%, do you mean laying the field for such an overround and having some bets matched, some not?

For horse racing at least, the market is so inefficient with horses getting backed 10>4 and similarly drifters, that even laying for an overround of 115% could result in laying a 3.0 chance at 5.0. The people who study racing and are more clued-up will take the value bets while the other bets won't get matched.

I haven't done much automation or PC avoidance so I can't give you an answer but horse racing is a sport that I'd be wary of relying on an overround to ensure prices have any value.
jamesedwards

Derek27 wrote:
Tue Jan 28, 2020 10:10 pm