Your thoughts...

The sport of kings.
sprocket501

As a new trader, I was fascinated with the market below which was the 4pm at Kelso. Only three runners and a massive odds-on favourite. I'm not asking what I should do with a market like this, rather what should I be looking for and thinking about? I learn a lot by hearing and understanding people's thought processes. For the record i did make profit on this race by trading on the second favourite but it was touch and go for while.

Thanks.
kelso 405.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Crazyskier

First impression of the screenie is to B2L scalp the second fav.

That said, I've lost more than I've won when manually trading, and focus fully on auto, so don't read too much into my judgement!

CS
Euler

I guess some of the answer is dependant on whether you are talking about pre-off or in-play?
alexmr2

Just checked my account and I laid at 1.34 then scratched the trade at 1.35. Everyone trades differently but my view at the time was probably to lay at the bottom of the range of the favourite where the volume has built up in hope of a reversal, I would be looking for the 2nd runner to start heading back down to the bottom of its range to help push the favourite up.

I ended up scratching the trade because it didn't work out. I'm not a pro so my entry might not have been ideal but scratching it and moving onto the next race was the right thing to do IMO.

Manual trading is a bit difficult to explain/transfer knowledge, it requires lots of perceptual judgement from your own experience. It's very precise and relies on what you see happening at the time.