Recording Betfair Horse Racing data

trifletastic

Hi folks. I've been using BA for a couple of months now, and am starting to get the hang of things. Really love the Excel integration which led me to build this data capture file which I thought I might as well share if anyone is interested.

It captures every change on the spreadsheet and at the end of the race saves the data into an Excel file in a location you specify with the name and time of the race as the file name. (It won't work on US racing as it is, because the markets don't go in-play, so the trigger to finish the race isn't received - at the moment the trigger is a price differential between max LTP and min LTP of >800ish while the race is both suspended and in-play, which you won't see before off, of course)

It will create 5 worksheets in the data file, with the following columns:

Header: Event ID, Event Description, Number of Runners, Event Start

Selections: Event ID, Selection ID, Selection Name, Saddle Cloth Number, Stall Number, Jockey, Trainer, Starting Price, Reduction Factor

Timeline: Snapshot ID, Event ID, Snapshot Time, Event Status

Volume: Snapshot ID, Event ID, Volume Movement

PriceData: Snapshot ID, Event ID, Selection ID, Last Traded Price, Volume, Trade

MarketMoney: Volume Snapshot ID, Price Snapshot ID, Selection ID, Back Price, Lay Price, Back Available, Lay Available

AuditLog: This is a log of all of the runs of the data capture cycle. Useful for debugging if something goes wrong, but no use at all for trading, so you can ignore this.

If you're used to working with large amounts of data then this should be no problem to navigate, there are all the relevant primary and foreign keys in the data to make linking everything together easy.