Database Structure for Horse Racing

TLindeth

Hi all,

I started recording horse racing data a few weeks ago using Switesh's brilliant spreadsheet. I'm now looking to go a step further and move out of Excel and into a database. I'm going to start with MS Access to help improve my knowledge of database design before moving on to something more sophisticated when the data volume ramps up.

The issue I have is that I have no real experience with MS Access or databases in general and having to learn as I go (which is the fun part anyway). But I'm getting a little bit confused in terms of the best way to structure the database to cover all of the data that can be captured, especially the pre-off data at each 1 second interval from 5:30 out to post time (i.e. back prices, lay prices, LTP, volume, WOM Etc... as design by Switesh himself). How do people generally structure the tables to capture this level of data? As someone that is experienced in Excel but not Access, I'm struggling with the adaptation!

I've split some of the data into separate tables, i.e. courses, race types, distances etc., but it's the detail that's throwing me... I'd really appreciate some advice and guidance from those who are far more experienced at this stuff than I am! :)

Thanks in advance

Tom
ODPaul82

This is how I structure mine based on the free betfair data
ER Diagram.png
It's to a certain level of normalisation which is where you dont want to have masses of duplicate information
Basically if you can achieve 3rd normal form (google it) then you're pretty much there in structure.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TLindeth

Thanks Paul - that is really useful. I'll have a look into 3rd normal form!

Nice to see a fellow member from Sutton! I've lived here all my life - assuming you're in Sutton (Surrey)... :)
ODPaul82