Modeling data (why & how?)

Brovashift

Hi all,

I have heard Peter say on many occasions about modeling the data, but Im curious to know why we'd want to do it, and how to go about it.

Is modelling data a way to program a trading idea into a type of simulator where we can e.g. find out if it would have a positive or negative expectancy over 100... 200... 500 trades for example?

If this is the general premise, then how would I start to model data? I found an interesting source on Betfair that talks you through the initial steps and suggests "R" or "Python" languages to get started. I have some experience with C#, and even less with Java, but I thought my days of stressing over 1 line of code for 18 hours, only for the answer to pop into my head at a randon moment while doing the washing up or some other mundane task, were well behind me lol.
Is modelling data where we separate the men from the boys with regards to trading success? I will if I have too :roll: lol.

TIA
sionascaig

Have a look at the BA Tennis or Soccer traders... They are good examples of why you may want to develop a model...

Both are driven by data & the model allows you to test out various scenarios so you can go into trades with a better understanding of what may happen.

For example, I put one together for test cricket.. Basically input the actual players and the model picks up their most recent averages etc and runs a stochastic simulation of the game several 1000 times to give you and idea of what the starting prices should be (expected runs etc) ... Its reasonably accurate compared to the market (before the toss anyway)...

It can also allow you to get a better understanding of how sensitive the game is to specific players performance etc..

It can be a good learning exercise in itself to develop a good model as you have to get a feel for what the key factors are that will impact it and how they change over time... All of which will feed into your actual trading...
jimibt