Need help and advice please.

We were all new to Bet Angel once. Ask any question you like here and fellow forum members promise not to laugh. Betfair trading made simple.
daveh

Hi I am new to betangel and betting exchange trading. Having read and watched all available material I can find online, I feel as if I am making very slow progress. I would be extremely grateful of some advice which would help me on my way. Forgive me if these seem like stupid problems and questions.

I have a setup for my trading that goes like so, offsetting by one, fill or kill set at 20sec, 5 pounds tick size, force open to reverse, I enter the horse racing markets about 10 mins before the off, I usually trade on the ladder or one click screen but struggle to get a large portion of my bets matched, and if one side is matched it is usually on the wrong side of the market, leaving me in the red by some 3 or 4 ticks and I spend the remainder of my time before the race trying to correct the position.

As I have the page in reverse I tend to use the arrow at the top of the page indicating the weight of money as a guide as to which way the price will move? Is this wise? What should I be doing to judge a good point to enter the market?

Another thing, sometime there is a massive instant jump from one trading point to another for no apparent reason, what causes these large volatile movements?

I am really finding it difficult to generate a high number of turns to help make things more beneficial, so any comments or suggestions on this point would be most welcome.

I currently greening out for between 1 to 4 pounds on about 30% of the markets I enter, with around 40% resulting in smaller gains of between 10 and 50 pence and then I would lose between 5 and 10 pounds on the remaining 30%, leaving me with frustratingly low returns.