Lay the Ex-Leader (if now 3rd or lower & Travelling Slower) - Guardian Automation Bot

delghisallo
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:45 pm

Dallas wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2023 2:35 pm
CitizenEra5ed wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2023 11:38 am
Hi Dallas, it’s the latest iteration posted a few posts above that I used - the one that mentions counter in the name. It counts the race leader unless a horse pulls up then seems to just count that. I saw it twice in consecutive races.

I have not changed the file at all.

Regards

Chris

PS thanks for your excellent work on this forum. I’m new here but already can see what a massive asset you are.
Ah ok,

That was a users file which they adapted, all I done was make a few corrections that were preventing it from triggering.
Without going through the full file in detail and testing it properly I couldn't really say what's causing what you've seen, or how to go about fixing.

If I get chance i'll try and have a look towards the end of the week, or in the mean time maybe if delghisallo see's your post and has also come across it and resolved it he can advise what to change
Thanks for highlighting this Chris, I think the issue is that TPD position in race is set to "0" for pulled-up/fallen runners. I have added a condition to the Update Order rule so that the runner-position must be greater or equal to 1. I havent had time to test this yet though, Dallas do you think this should work?

- Delghisllo
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
CitizenEra5ed
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2023 9:26 pm

delghisallo wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2023 2:13 pm
Dallas wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2023 2:35 pm
CitizenEra5ed wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2023 11:38 am
Hi Dallas, it’s the latest iteration posted a few posts above that I used - the one that mentions counter in the name. It counts the race leader unless a horse pulls up then seems to just count that. I saw it twice in consecutive races.

I have not changed the file at all.

Regards

Chris

PS thanks for your excellent work on this forum. I’m new here but already can see what a massive asset you are.
Ah ok,

That was a users file which they adapted, all I done was make a few corrections that were preventing it from triggering.
Without going through the full file in detail and testing it properly I couldn't really say what's causing what you've seen, or how to go about fixing.

If I get chance i'll try and have a look towards the end of the week, or in the mean time maybe if delghisallo see's your post and has also come across it and resolved it he can advise what to change
Thanks for highlighting this Chris, I think the issue is that TPD position in race is set to "0" for pulled-up/fallen runners. I have added a condition to the Update Order rule so that the runner-position must be greater or equal to 1. I havent had time to test this yet though, Dallas do you think this should work?

- Delghisllo
Thanks Delghisllo, I’ll give it a try and report back if I encounter any issues.

Regards

Chris
User avatar
lotora
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Surin City, Thailand

CitizenEra5ed wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2023 8:09 pm
delghisallo wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2023 2:13 pm
Dallas wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2023 2:35 pm


Ah ok,

That was a users file which they adapted, all I done was make a few corrections that were preventing it from triggering.
Without going through the full file in detail and testing it properly I couldn't really say what's causing what you've seen, or how to go about fixing.

If I get chance i'll try and have a look towards the end of the week, or in the mean time maybe if delghisallo see's your post and has also come across it and resolved it he can advise what to change
Thanks for highlighting this Chris, I think the issue is that TPD position in race is set to "0" for pulled-up/fallen runners. I have added a condition to the Update Order rule so that the runner-position must be greater or equal to 1. I havent had time to test this yet though, Dallas do you think this should work?

- Delghisllo
Thanks Delghisllo, I’ll give it a try and report back if I encounter any issues.

Regards

Chris
Seems to work.?
User avatar
CitizenEra5ed
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2023 9:26 pm

lotora wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2023 11:01 am
CitizenEra5ed wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2023 8:09 pm
delghisallo wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2023 2:13 pm


Thanks for highlighting this Chris, I think the issue is that TPD position in race is set to "0" for pulled-up/fallen runners. I have added a condition to the Update Order rule so that the runner-position must be greater or equal to 1. I havent had time to test this yet though, Dallas do you think this should work?

- Delghisllo
Thanks Delghisllo, I’ll give it a try and report back if I encounter any issues.

Regards

Chris
Seems to work.?
It seems to be working ok although it clashes with the grid on the one click screen and causes some of the boxes not to have values in them. I’m not sure about the profitability of the strategy as most of the wins are tiny in comparison to the lay liability. It only takes one lay to win and it wipes out all the good work it has done (as I saw in the 3:05 at Lingfield).

I currently don’t have any option for back testing so can only forward test.

Regards

Chris
User avatar
lotora
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Surin City, Thailand

delghisallo wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2023 2:13 pm
Dallas wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2023 2:35 pm
CitizenEra5ed wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2023 11:38 am
Hi Dallas, it’s the latest iteration posted a few posts above that I used - the one that mentions counter in the name. It counts the race leader unless a horse pulls up then seems to just count that. I saw it twice in consecutive races.

I have not changed the file at all.

Regards

Chris

PS thanks for your excellent work on this forum. I’m new here but already can see what a massive asset you are.
Ah ok,

That was a users file which they adapted, all I done was make a few corrections that were preventing it from triggering.
Without going through the full file in detail and testing it properly I couldn't really say what's causing what you've seen, or how to go about fixing.

If I get chance i'll try and have a look towards the end of the week, or in the mean time maybe if delghisallo see's your post and has also come across it and resolved it he can advise what to change
Thanks for highlighting this Chris, I think the issue is that TPD position in race is set to "0" for pulled-up/fallen runners. I have added a condition to the Update Order rule so that the runner-position must be greater or equal to 1. I havent had time to test this yet though, Dallas do you think this should work?

- Delghisllo
Before putting it to rest, no one has any issue.?
Safeway
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2023 7:00 pm

Hi Dallas and Everyone!

As part of my education in TPD and automation I am (trying to) amend this bot to focus purely on speeds. I have been checking literally thousands of results / speeds / sectional timings and not surprisingly strong patterns emerge. This bot seems an OK starting point for me and I have stripped out anything related to positions (ex Leader etc.)

I have searched the forum and manual but I can't see how to do what I need to do. I want to have an average of a range of speed values (not the average from last 10 seconds as in this bot) but an average of values accruing from a fixed point in time. This point in time may be the start of the race or maybe as each runner enters the second 'section' of the race after (say) between 1 furlong to 2 furlongs.

If I can achieve this I would have an average calculation starting at a fixed point and being the average of an increasing range of values as every 0.5% seconds an additional speed figure would be included in the average calculation.

The problem I have is that this bot is taking the average of a 'shifting' 10seconds worth of values (20 readings in a ten second period.) Including the next speed reading in the calculation as the oldest reading falls out.....if you know what I mean.

If I select 'Store a value from calculated from a range of values this is where I am can I achieve this here? Hopefully yes because I'm starting to understand this bit!

Thanks all.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Dallas
Posts: 22866
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:57 pm
Location: Working From Home

Safeway wrote:
Sat May 04, 2024 8:43 am
Hi Dallas and Everyone!

As part of my education in TPD and automation I am (trying to) amend this bot to focus purely on speeds. I have been checking literally thousands of results / speeds / sectional timings and not surprisingly strong patterns emerge. This bot seems an OK starting point for me and I have stripped out anything related to positions (ex Leader etc.)

I have searched the forum and manual but I can't see how to do what I need to do. I want to have an average of a range of speed values (not the average from last 10 seconds as in this bot) but an average of values accruing from a fixed point in time. This point in time may be the start of the race or maybe as each runner enters the second 'section' of the race after (say) between 1 furlong to 2 furlongs.

If I can achieve this I would have an average calculation starting at a fixed point and being the average of an increasing range of values as every 0.5% seconds an additional speed figure would be included in the average calculation.

The problem I have is that this bot is taking the average of a 'shifting' 10seconds worth of values (20 readings in a ten second period.) Including the next speed reading in the calculation as the oldest reading falls out.....if you know what I mean.

If I select 'Store a value from calculated from a range of values this is where I am can I achieve this here? Hopefully yes because I'm starting to understand this bit!

Thanks all.
The way I'd to do would be to not use history lists and instead just store the speed as a value (ie, name it speed1), you can then arm the rule say 5secs after going in-play
Then add another SV rule armed say 30secs after going in-play and store the speed again (ie, name it speed2)
and so on

Then finally create a 'Set/Modify Stored Value' to store the value from a range, and choose the average option and list each of the Stored Value names you created above
Safeway
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2023 7:00 pm

Thanks Dallas.
I'm playing with your sectional stuff too. I think that's good for me but I'm taking your suggestions here on board.....just gotta get my head around approaching the thing from that slightly different angle.
Thanks again mate :D
Safeway
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2023 7:00 pm

Thanks again for your help Dallas.

I confess I only discovered your sectional bot in the last couple of days. Traded with it most of yesterday. Very happy indeed, even happy with the £'s! I don't now think I need to progress the idea I put to you on this thread (although I have a question on that sectionals bot which I'll add to that thread in a moment :geek: ??)

Sorry though, I'm still thinking of average speeds. A bot which collects speed data from the second the market goes in play to continually accrue the average of each horse's speed based on the distance that they have run at that or any point....and continues up to the end of the race where the final average speed will of course equal the actual time it has taken that horse to complete the course (thereabouts.)

Trying to keep my question as simple as possible...is there a way to change the stored value 'average_speed_10seconds' which 'floats' to something like 'average_speed_start to current'.......which has a fixed starting point of the start of the race???

As I see it, something like this will enable me to instantly see runners which are deviating and bet accordingly, hopefully with automated triggers.

Many thanks and have a great Bank Holiday Monday :)
Post Reply

Return to “TPD / Total Performance Data”