Understanding value of a trade

A place to discuss anything.
jamesedwards

Bene wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2023 3:33 pm
Hello everyone,

Can someone explain if I am on a good start here? I am new to trading, reading about it for a few months and only have experience in matched betting.
When trading for example over/under 0.5 goals inplay, opening a trade at 20th minute of a match with score 0-0 , lay over 0.5 goals at 1.12 looking for a no goal in lets say next 15 minutes. Then 35th minute score still 0-0 and available back price for over 0.5 is 1.19. My trade was succesfull and I am in profit 7 ticks.

If my stake was 100 units on 1.12 lay my liability was 12 units
Back bet 94.12 on 1.19 according to calculator with profit being 5.76 after 2% comission.

When I tranlate this to odds it is 17.76/12 = 1.48 and in probability it is 67.5%. If I assumed that the probability of no goal is 80% in this time window this should be a good trade since the risk/reward ratio is on my side.

Is this the correct approach?
Welcome to the forum. This is a fantastic place to bounce ideas and learn how to use Bet Angel to trade.

How do you know the probably of no goal is 80%? Betfair markets are usually very accurate. To win long term you need achieved odds to outperform expected outcome, or a reason to believe the odds available offer value in that specific moment, price and circumstances. Otherwise in the long run you will simply lose by the average value of the spread + your Betfair commission rate.

Long term winners on the exchange will have an edge over the market. Examples of an edge could include; faster pictures, inside info, expert knowledge, expert market reading. What's your edge?
arbitrage16

Consider that value is related to probability at the moment of entry.
ShaunWhite