No - with one exception to that rule.
Let's say that in a particular race, you backed a horse prior to the off, and laid it during the race to green up. And let's say that a favourite withdrew just before the off, and the Rule 4 deductions were only applied after the race had finished. Let's assume that this means that you would eventually end up in the red for that race, not the green.
You move onto the next race, thinking that you'd greened up in the previous race. You bet £10 on a horse at 10.0 (and for the sake of argument, let's assume that's your entire bank). Soon thereafter, Betfair settle the previous race. The price later drops to 9.0. You try to green up. But Betfair won't let you. The reason for this is that, as far as Betfair is concerned, you have a negative balance! As a result, you won't be able to place your lay (even though doing so would put you firmly back in the green!).
It's a flaw in Betfair's software (and an amateurish one at that IMHO), but if you lose out because of it, I'd be amazed if they refunded you!
You can also get stung if Betfair apply a data request charge whilst you have a trade open. This happened to me, and they didn't notify me in advance of the charge.
I hope that helps.
Jeff
marqasa wrote:Just to clarify this; if I place a back bet of £10 at odds of 10, if the price then comes in to 9 I will need at least £80 of available funds to close the trade, even though doing so will result in a no lose situation. Is that correct?